Datsun Z Sheet Metal Rust Repair: Stamped Patch Panels

Never purchase a vehicle without inspecting it and avoid vehicles with rust.  This is really good advice that I did not follow. Most of the parts were present, but there were a few rust problems.  We stripped the car completely down to the shell once we grasped the extent of the issues.  It did not make sense to build upon the shaky foundation that we discovered.

The previous owner attempted quite a few repairs.  Some of the repairs look good enough and others look questionable. One of the chaIMG_2051llenges with this car is making those decisions. In some ways starting from scratch with honest rust holes might have made the project easier. My experience with rust repair was nonexistent prior to the Datsun, but is slowly growing as the project continues. In an effort to avoid becoming completely overwhelmed and with respect to my limited spare time I’m trying to work on one section of the car at a time. Up to this point I have touched up a few previous repairs with additional welding and grinding. I am avoiding the intimidating problem areas and have shaped a few of my own patch panels.

Forming a patch panel for the driver side dog leg proved a time consuming challenge and my final results were disappointing, but still better than the original repair.  Purchasing a stamped patch panel would have been a better use of my time and given me a superior end result.

Below is a summary of the retailers and websites that carry replacement panels.

TABCO

Home

Motor Sport Auto
http://www.thezstore.com/

Z Car Source of Arizona
http://www.zcarsource.com/

Black Dragon Auto
http://www.blackdragonauto.com/

Zedd Findings

Home

Rust Panels

Most of the retailers all seem to sell the same line of rust repair patch panels with the exception of Zedd Findings. Zedd findings offers replacement floors and rails for the 240Z, 280Z and 280ZX. My current project requires partial panel replacement and the above suppliers offer solutions to panels that would prove more challenging to hand shape.  I believe TABCO is the manufacturer of the repair panels. A post on Classic Z Cars from 2008 documents a trip to TABCO in Cleveland, Ohio and paints an interesting picture.

http://www.classiczcars.com/topic/28852-my-visit-to-tabco/IMG_2191

Pricing from TABCO is generally lower than the other retailers. In my opinion the only advantage to ordering from one of the other retailers might be inventory availability or customer service.  A few posts on the forums alluded to TABCO waiting for a minimum production run number before processing back ordered items.  I was able to find a TABCO dogleg panel on EBay and ordered a lower Rear Quarter panel direct from TABCO.

Both items arrived in good condition and in a timely manner.  I’m looking forward to getting them installed.

Leave a comment